President Pranab Mukherjee Removes Chairperson of Board of Governors of NIT Rourkela

Bhubaneswar: The President of India Pranab Mukherjee on the recommendation of the Ministry of Human Resource Development (HRD) removed Vasantha Ramaswamy, the honorary Chairperson of Board of Governors (BoG) of the National Institute of Technology (NIT), Rourkela on Friday.

HRD ministry took the decision after Vasantha Ramaswamy refused to resign from the post Chairperson of Board of Governors. According to sources NIT Rourkela, Director, Prof SK Sarangi had resigned from his position earlier in April as directed by the HRD ministry.

Both the Chairperson and the director were said to be at loggerheads over the administrative control of NIT Rourkela. The HRD ministry in April had asked both the officials to resign for the larger interest of the institution.  Failing to follow the directive Vasantha Ramaswamy was removed by the President of India.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *