Odisha wins Group A Ranji Match against Jharkhand

Odisha bowler Basant Mohanty
Odisha bowler Basant Mohanty

Cuttack: Hosts Odisha thrashed neighbours Jharkhand by nine wickets in their Group-A match to register their first win of the ongoing Ranji Trophy season at DRIEMS Cricket Stadium in Tangi, 20kms from here today. The emphatic victory fetched Odisha six points and they jumped from eighth to fifth posion in the group table with nine points from three games, while Jharkhand drew blank to stay at the bottom with two points from four matches.

This was also Odisha’s first win in three matches against Jharkhand in Ranji Trophy and they avenged their six-wicket defeat at Jamshedpur in 2004. The other match between the two sided had ended in a draw.

Two bowlers and three batsmen put up impressive performance for Odisha. They were Basant Mohanty, Alok Sahoo, Bikash Pati, Girija Rout and Biplab Samantaray. Put into bat, Jharkhand were restricted to 221. In reply, Odisha made 307 to gain a first innings lead of 86 runs. In the second innings, Jharkhand were all out for 194 and Odisha clinched victory, making 109 for no loss.

Experienced seamer Basant bagged six wickets in the second innings and 11 in the match to emerge the man of the match. This was his 10th first-class five-wicket haul in an innings and first 10-wicket achievement in a match.

Odisha opening batsman Bikash Pati
Odisha opening batsman Bikash Pati

A career-best 94 by opening batsman Bikash and his 132-run partnership for the fifth-wicket with skipper Biplab enabled hosts Odisha take the first innings lead. Twenty-eight-year-old Bikash, who returned to Ranji team after a gap of one year, however, missed his maiden first-class ton by six runs. His 251-ball patient knock, studded with 14 boundaries, was his sixth first-class half-century and he completed 1,000 runs in the process. Biplab hit 67 (164b, 10×4, 1×6), which was his sixth first-class fifty.

Opener Girija’s maiden first-class half-century and his 85-run stand for the unfinished second wicket with Niranjan Behera helped clinched victory with ease. Girija remained unbeaten on 67 (98b, 11×4).

Medium pacer Alok hastened the end of the opposition second innings with a career-best haul of four for 42. Returning to the team after a gap of one year, he finished with a match haul of seven for 76.

Odisha made three changes in the team, replacing Natraj Behera, Alok Mangaraj and Dhiraj Singh with Bikash, Alok and Santosh Jena. Odisha would next meet Karnataka at the same venue from November 28 to December 1. Incidentaly, Odisha had won their last Ranji match on November 27, 2012, defeating Karnataka at Bangalore by 65 runs.


JHARKHAND (1st innings): S Rathour c S Sahoo b Mohanty 0, R Nemat c N Behera b Mohanty 36, B Thakkar c Samantaray b Mohanty 0, S Tiwary c S Jena b Samantaray 67, I Jaggi b Jena 0, Bhavik Thaker (not out) 61, S Nadeem c Samantaray b Mohanty 5, P Singh c S Sahoo b A Sahoo 3, V Aaron c Mohanty b A Sahoo 44, Shivshankar Rao c N Behera b A Sahoo 0, Ajay Yadav b Mohanty 0; Extras (lb-1, w-1) 2

Total (all out; 67.4 overs) 221

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-0, 3-69, 4-74, 5-124, 6-129, 7-143, 8-216, 9-216

Bowling: Basant Mohanty 20.4-4-60-5, Alok Sahoo 10-1-34-3, Deepak Behera 14-1-58-0, Biplab Samantaray 15-4-34-1, Santosh Jena 8-1-34-1.

ODISHA (1st innings): Girija Rout c P Singh b Yadav 21, Bikash Pati c Nadeem b Aaron 94, Deepak Behera b S Rao 0, Niranjan Behera c Thaker b Yadav 39, Govind Poddar b Yadav 5, Biplab Samantaray c Jaggi b Aaron 67, Abhilash Mallick b Rao 19, Subhrajit Sahoo c P Singh b Yadav 8, Alok Sahoo (not out) 19, Basant Mohanty b Nadeem 4, Santosh Jena lbw Yadav 4; Extras (b-13, lb-12, w-1) 26

Total (all out; 118.4 overs) 307

Fall of wicket: 1-35, 2-37, 3-99, 4-105, 5-237, 6-267, 7-273, 8-291, 9-302

Bowling: Varun Aaron 25-7-67-2, Shivshankar Rao 31-9-78-2, Ajay Yadav 27.4-7-61-5, Shahbaz Nadeem 28-11-49-1, Bhavin Thakkar 5-1-17-0, Shasheem Rathour 1-0-9-0, Ishank Jaggi 1-0-1-0

JHARKHAND (2nd innings): R Nemat c Mallick b Mohanty 4, S Rathour lbw Mohanty 9, B Thakkar , I Jaggi lbw Mohanty 0, Pappu Singh c Poddar b A Sahoo 61, V Aaron b Mohanty 0, Saurabh Tiwary c S Sahoo b Mohanty 57, Bhavik Thaker c S Sahoo b A Sahoo 9, S Nadeem c Samantaray b A Sahoo 20, S Rao b A Sahoo 10, A Yadav (not out 8; Extras (nb-10) 10

Total (all out; 73.4 overs) 194

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-15, 3-15, 4-33, 5-37, 6-136, 7-149, 8-158, 9-176

Bowling: Basant Mohanty 26-6-88-6, Deepak Behera 14-4-21-0, Santosh Jena 6-1-14-0, Alok Sahoo 15.4-3-42-4, Biplab Samantaray 10-4-18-0, Govind Poddar 2-0-11-0

ODISHA (2nd innings): Girija Rout (not out) 67, Bikash Pati c Tiwary b Aaron 11, Niranjan Behera (not out) 27; Extras (b-4) 4

Total (1 wkt; 30 overs) 109

Fall of wicket: 1-24

Bowling: S Nadeem 9-4-15-0, V Aaron 5-1-20-1, S Rao 1-0-8-0, A Yadav 3-1-4-0, I Jaggi 10-1-41-0, R Nemat 2-0-17-0.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *