Odisha State Government to Credit 100% Argi-Insurance Money to Farmers’ Account

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Secretary A P Padhi recently directed to Credit the entire argi-insurance money to the bank account of the farmers during a district wise review meeting through video conference here at the Bhubaneswar Secretariat. Padhi also wanted to ensure 100% disbursement maximum within 15 days.

Development Commissioner R. Balakrishnan also advised the banks to open parallel savings accounts of the loanee farmers within 2 to 3 days and credit the insurance money to their savings account. Also attending the meeting Principal Secretary Cooperation Manoj Ahuja appraised that this insurance claim is being given against kharif crop loss of 2015.

Notably, around 11.61 lakh farmers will be benefitted from it. A total amount of Rs. around Rs. 1,776 crores will be distributed through their bank accounts. According to sources, till date around Rs.880 crores has already been credited to account of the farmers. Padhi also advised the Collectors to keep a close watch over the situation and ensure 100% disbursement of the compensation money to account of the famers.

He also directed the collectors to review the situation on a daily basis with commercial and cooperative banks and send the updated report to Principal Secretary Cooperation through a social media platform.

Further, Chief Secretary clarified that since the agricultural loan term is up to the month of March, no bank should adjust the insurance money against the loan of current year. The non-defaulter loanee farmers up to the last year should be disbursed 100% of the insurance money.

The Collectors were also asked to ensure 100% disbursement of drought assistance against Kharif-2015. Near about Rs.83 crores would be distributed to drought affected farmers in 24 districts at the rate of Rs.100/- per quintal of paddy.

Special Relief Commissioner Pradeep Kumar Mohapatra present in the meeting also appraised that the entire money will be sourced through Secretary Central Cooperative Bank. Collectors were directed to complete the disbursement of the amount within 3 to 4 days. The Principal Secretary Finance T K Pandey, Joint Director Planning Jayanta Kumar Mishra, Principal Secretary Agriculture Monaj Kumar Ahuja, Principal Secretary Water Resources Pradeep Kumar Jena along with senior officers from concerned departments participated in the review meeting.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *