Odisha Panchayat Polls from Feb 13, Model Code of Conduct in Force

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha State Election Commission today declared the dates for 3-tier panchayat general elections for Gram Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis and Zila Parishads to be conducted in five phases to begin on February 13, 2017. The State Election Commissioner R N Senapati informing the media persons here said the polls will be conducted in five phases on February 13, 15, 17, 19 and 21, respectively. The model code of conduct comes into force from today and no new schemes, development programmes or roads can be constructed and the government cannot announce any new programmes till the elections end.

The Commission also urged the government, all political parties, candidates and persons holding public offices who are provided with official perquisites and transport and all officials and all employees of the Government, Public Sector Undertakings, Panchayati Raj Institutions and Co operatives to observe the provisions of the Model Code of Conduct in right earnest.

According to Senapati, the filing of nomination papers will take place between January 11 and 17 barring government holidays and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is January 21. Final list of candidates will be declared on the same day, he added.

The Election Commissioner also informed as per the interim orders of the Honble High Court of Orissa, elections to Panchayat Samiti Members of Paijang Panchayat Samiti of Dhenkanal district, Dasarathpur Panchayat Samiti of Jajpur district, Kolabira and Laikera Panchayat Samiti of Jharsuguda district, Bhawanipatna Panchayat Samiti of Kalahandi district and Rengali Panchayat Samiti of Sambalpur district are not being notified.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *