National Tiger Conservation Authority Approves Setting up of 4 Tiger Reserve Parks including Sunabeda in Odisha

New Delhi: The in-principle approval has been accorded by the National Tiger Conservation Authority for creation of four new tiger reserves, and the sites are:, Pilibhit (Uttar Pradesh), Ratapani (Madhya Pradesh), Sunabeda (Odisha), and Mukundara Hills (including Darrah, Jawahar Sagar and Chambal Wildlife Sanctuaries) (Rajasthan). Final approval has been accorded to Kudremukh (Karnataka) for declaring as a tiger reserve. This was stated by Shrimati Jayanthi Natarajan Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Environment and Forests, in a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha today.

The Minister further stated that the State Governments have been advised to send proposals for declaring the following areas as tiger reserves: (i) Bor (Maharashtra), (ii) Suhelwa (Uttar Pradesh), (iii) Nagzira-Navegaon (Maharashtra), (iv) Guru Ghasidas National Park (Chhattisgarh), (v) Mhadei Sanctuary (Goa) and (vi) Srivilliputhur Grizzled Giant Squirrel / Megamalai Wildlife Sanctuaries / Varushanadu Valley (Tamil Nadu).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *