ISRO to Create History; Launch 20 Satellites on June 22

New Delhi: The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) will achieve another landmark on June 22 by launching a record 20 satellites in a single mission from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh.

The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle “PSLV-C34” will lift off on June 22 and the vehicle will not only put 20 satellites into the same orbit – the highest number of satellites to be put into orbit by a PSLV – but it will perform two tricky experiments of the same nature.

On June 22, eight minutes after the PSLV-C34 lifts off, the fourth stage engine will sizzle into life, taking the stage to an altitude of 514 km.

The fourth stage engine will be cut off 16 minutes and 30 seconds after the lift-off. Over the next 10 minutes, 20 satellites will be injected into the same orbit from the fourth stage, one after another.

On December 16, 2015, after the PSLV-C29’s fourth stage put six Singapore satellites into the same orbit, the ISRO re-started the fourth-stage engine for four seconds.

Image Courtesy: DD News

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *