BJP Workers Assaulted by Ruling BJD Leaders; BJP Legislator’s Team to Visit Boudh Tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: Caught on camera of local television channels the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) party workers were seen allegedly attacking brutally Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) party workers for waving black flags to the motorcade of Youth BJD president Sanjay Dasburma, who also happens to be the State Food Supply minister, at Manamunda in Boudh district today.

While Dasburma was on his way to attend a rally organised by Youth wing of BJD to protest against the construction work being undertaken on the upper catchment areas of Mahanadi by the Chhattisgarh government a handful of BJP workers were seen waving black flags to the minister. Subsequently, according to sources, a BJD MLA along with other party leaders and a municipal corporator of Bhubaneswar accompanying the minister in motorcade were seen coming out of the vehicles and began assaulting the BJP workers.

Following the incident, Boudh district BJP Yuva Morcha president lodged a complaint against five BJD leaders including Food supply minister Sanjay Dasburma, Urban development minister Pushpendra Singhdeo, , MLA Prashant Jagdev, corporators Amrash Jena and Vijay Nayak at the local Manamunda Police Station.

Reacting over the incident Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) youth wing leaders and party workers held protests and road blockade near the Bhubaneswar Railway Station stalling traffic movement for some time.

In a press conference held at the BJP party office here in Bhubaneswar BJP General Secretary Prithivraj Harichandan condemned the incident and said a team led by BJP legislature party leader KV Singhdeo will visit the spot at Manamunda in Boudh district tomorrow to assess the situation.

Harichandan also informed that three of the BJP workers have been hospitalised in a critical condition after that brutal attack and cited that from the hooliganism of the ruling party it is evident that Naveen Patnaik government lost faith in democracy.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *