Category Archives: State

Agni-IV Nuclear Capable Missile test fired successfully off Odisha Coast

Bhubaneswar: Agni-IV, the surface-to-surface with nuclear missile capability was successfully test fired from the Abdul Kalam Island also known as Wheelers Island off the Odisha coast at 11:50 am on Monday.

The 20-metre long missile which weighs around 17 tonnes has the capability to strike at a distance of 4000 kilometres. Developed indigenously by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) Agni-IV underwent the fifth successful test and can be launched from a road mobile launcher.

The Minister of State for Defence, Subhash Ramrao Bhamre and Director-General (Missiles and Strategic Systems), DRDO, G. Satheesh Reddy were witness to the test conducted on January 2, 2017.

Union Road Transport Ministry Reviews Progress of National Highways in Odisha

New Delhi: The Ministry of Road Transport & Highways on Thursday reviewed the work progress of the National Highways in Odisha. In a meeting with the Odisha Government’s representative, the state of the existing highways totalling 4,847 kms was reviewed. Besides the review of above stretch, Highways totalling 1,789 kms for which DPR is under preparation, and also includes Bharatmala component of 500 kms, was also reviewed and the status of its implementation was discussed.

The Ministry has also reviewed and discussed the various proposals received from public representatives to declare 2,506 kms of stretches of State Roads as National Highways and it was decided to forward the proposal details for this to the Government of Odisha.

Madhusmita Behera to Lead Odisha Woman’s Team in T20 League

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Woman’s team all rounder Madhusmita Behera will lead the state team in the Senior Women’s Elite Group-B T-20 League to be held at Jamshedpur from January 2 to 6, 2017.

Odisha will play their other three league matches against Madhya Pradesh, Hyderabad and Uttar Pradesh on January 3, 5 and 6 respectively. Former Odisha Ranji Trophy player Dhirendra Kumar Rout has been named the chief coach of the team.


Madhusmita Behera (Captain), Madhuri Meheta, Sarita Meher, Kadambini Mohakud (WK), Anjali Singh, Rasanara Parwin, Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahu, Ritu Singh, Sujata Mallik, Rajashree Swain, Gangotree Behera, Purnima Ray, Kuni Bhadra, Sumitra Sahoo (WK), Chinmayee Das.

Manager: Santosh Das; Chief Coach: Dhirendra Kumar Rout; Coach: Rashmita Mohanty; Physio: Aparna Mishra; Trainer: Sweta Samantaray

Odisha’s Poonam Nayak Selected for East Zone U-19 team

Bhubaneswar: Odia lass Poonam Nayak has been included in the 15-member East Zone team for the BCCI Inter-Zonal Under-19 Women Two-day League. Tanushree Sarkar will lead the team which includes six from Bengal, four from Jharkhand, two each from Tripura and Assam and one from Odisha. The league is scheduled to be held at Vijayawada and Guntur from January 20 to February 3, 2017.

In a meeting of the East Zone representatives the team was finalised at Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) Club, Barabati Stadium today. OCA Secretary Asirbad Behera convened the meeting attended by Santosh Das (Odisha), Kanhu S Chakroborty (Jharkhand), Rita Baidya Kakati (Assam), Rajat Kanti Sen (Tripura), Mithu Mukherjee (Bengal) and Lopamudra Banerjee (National selector, East Zone) as members.

EAST ZONE U-19 WOMEN TEAM: Tanushree Sarkar, Richa Ghosh, Parna Paul, Deepa Das, Shreyoshi Aich, Nisha Majhi (all Bengal); Ritu Kumari, Rashmi Gudia, Durga Kumari Murmu, Mamata Pashwan (all Jharkhand); Suravi Roy, Mamon Ravi Das (both Tripura); Kalpana Sautal, Nirupoma Boro (both Assam); Poonam Nayak (Odisha).

Manager: Rita Baidya Kakati (Assam) Coach: Seema Singh (Jharkhand); Assistant coach: Arpita Ghosh (Bengal); Physio: Sambita Paul (Bengal); Trainer: Manashi Parui (Bengal).

Odisha Panchayat Polls from Feb 13, Model Code of Conduct in Force

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha State Election Commission today declared the dates for 3-tier panchayat general elections for Gram Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis and Zila Parishads to be conducted in five phases to begin on February 13, 2017. The State Election Commissioner R N Senapati informing the media persons here said the polls will be conducted in five phases on February 13, 15, 17, 19 and 21, respectively. The model code of conduct comes into force from today and no new schemes, development programmes or roads can be constructed and the government cannot announce any new programmes till the elections end.

The Commission also urged the government, all political parties, candidates and persons holding public offices who are provided with official perquisites and transport and all officials and all employees of the Government, Public Sector Undertakings, Panchayati Raj Institutions and Co operatives to observe the provisions of the Model Code of Conduct in right earnest.

According to Senapati, the filing of nomination papers will take place between January 11 and 17 barring government holidays and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is January 21. Final list of candidates will be declared on the same day, he added.

The Election Commissioner also informed as per the interim orders of the Honble High Court of Orissa, elections to Panchayat Samiti Members of Paijang Panchayat Samiti of Dhenkanal district, Dasarathpur Panchayat Samiti of Jajpur district, Kolabira and Laikera Panchayat Samiti of Jharsuguda district, Bhawanipatna Panchayat Samiti of Kalahandi district and Rengali Panchayat Samiti of Sambalpur district are not being notified.