Category Archives: Hockey

4 Girls from Odisha in Women’s Team as Hockey India Announces Teams for Rio Olympics

New Delhi: Hockey India today announced the Men’s and Women’s teams for the Rio Olympics 2016 here at a function held in New Delhi.

In a surprise change the long standing captain of the men’s team Sardar Singh has been replaced by Goal Keeper PR Sreejesh while Sushila Chanu will captain the Women’s team replacing captain Ritu Rani after she was dropped due to lack of improvement in her performance and other issues.

Men’s team have found themselves in a tough spot as they have challengers like Germany and Netherlands in the Group.

Men’s team

Men’s squad: PR Sreejesh (captain and GK), Harmanpreet Singh (defender), Rupinder Pal Singh (defender), Kothajit Singh (defender), Surendar Kumar (defender), Manpreet Singh (midfielder), Sardar Singh (midfielder), VR Raghunath (defender), SK Uthappa (midfielder), Danish Mujtaba (midfielder), Devender Walmiki (midfielder), SV Sunil (forward and vice-captain), Akashdeep Singh (forward), Chinglensana Singh (midfielder), Ramandeep Singh (forward), Nikkin Thimmaiah (forward).

Standby: Pardeep Mor, Vikas Dahiya

The women’s team is in Group B with Argentina, Australia, Great Britain, Japan and United States

Savita (GK), Navjot Kaur (midfielder), Deep Grace Ekka (defender), Monika (midfielder), Anuradha Devi (forward), Poonam Rani (forward), Vandana Kataria (forward), Deepika (vice-captain and defender), Namita Toppo (defender), Renuka Yadav (midfielder), Sunita Lakra (defender), Sushila Chanu (captain and defender), Rani Rampal (forward), Preeti Dubey (forward), Lilima Minz (midfielder), Nikki Pradhan (forward).

Standby: Rajani Etimarpu & H. Lalruat Feli

Deep Grace Ekka (defender), Namita Toppo (defender), Lilima Minz (midfielder) and Sunita Lakra (defender) are the 4 Odisha girls to have made to the Indian national team for the Rio Olympics.

Odisha sports minister has announced Rs 50,000 incentive for each player to have made it to the team.

Odisha Chief Secretary Launches Kalinga Lancers Hockey Website

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Scretary J K Mohapatra launched the Kalinga Lancers Hockey website on January 10 here at the Bhubaneswar secretariat. Notably, the Kalinga Lancers Hockey team from Odisha is the new entrant to Hockey India league as the sixth franchise, in their second season.

The website has been launched to promote and develop the activities of hockey in the State. It has also been linked to social media like twitter and facebook.

It also provides for online booking of the tickets. Through the website people can avail the match fixtures, sponsorship, team list, etc.

Secretary Sports & Youth Affairs Saswat Mishra replying to media queries said that for first time in India, Government of Odisha has taken initiative to launch a Special Purpose Vehicle ( SPV) under the name Odisha Sports Development & Promotion Company and has acquired sixth franchise of Hockey India League.

The SPV has been formed in joint partnership among IDCO, OMC, MCL and other industrial houses. In the second edition of the Hockey India League 5 matches will be played in Bhubaneswar in newly laid hockey field at Kalinga Stadium from 28th January to 14th February, 2014.

VVSN Rao, Convener of the Advisory Committee of Special Purpose Vehicle ( SPV) said that the franchise has been acquired by Govt of Odisha at an estimated cost of Rs.12 crore.

Kalinga Lancer Hockey Team consists of 14 Indian players and 10 International players, out of them 4 players are from Odisha. Indian Chief Hockey Coach Terry Walsch has been engaged as Chief Coach of the Team. Indian players have already reached Bhubaneswar for the tournament.

They have started their practice at Kalinga Stadium from 10th January. The foreign players are scheduled to arrive at Bhubaneswar on 20th January.

The first match will be played at Bhubaneswar on 28th January and subsequent matches viz. 2nd at Delhi on 30th Jan, 3rd, 4th, 8th and 9th Match at Bhubaneswar on 1st and 2nd, 13th and 14th February, respectively.

Other 5 matches will be played at places like Delhi, Mohali, Ranchi and Mumbai. The League match will be played on 16th Feb at Mumbai.

The Semi Final and Final matches have been scheduled on 22nd and 23rd February at Ranchi.

The hockey players and sports lovers of Odisha have welcome this step of Govt and have expressed satisfaction over the development. Sources say the SPV has taken up Hockey in first phase.