Category Archives: Cricket

BCCI Announces Team for First two Tests against Australia

Mumbai: The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) retained the Indian squad that played against Bangladesh. The All-India Senior Selection Committee met on February 14 to pick the India Cricket Team for the first two Test matches of the four-match Paytm Test series against Australia.

The team is as follows: Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, W Saha (wk), R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund and Hardik Pandya.

Here’s the complete schedule –

Match Date Venue
1st Test Feb 23-27 Pune
2nd Test Mar 04-08 Bengaluru
3rd Test Mar 16-20 Ranchi
4th Test Mar 25-29 Dharamsala

OCA Announces Domestic Cricket Tournaments to be held from March 26

Cuttack: The newly formed working committee of the Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) met here under the chairmanship of Dhiren Pallai at Barabati Stadium on February 14 and finalised the dates of the domestic tournaments in Odisha, which would be held from March 26 to May 17, 2017.

OCA decided that all matches of the four domestic tournaments will be conducted at eight different venues in Cuttack. The domestic season will start with the U-16 Inter-District Tournament to be played from March 26 to April 12. It will be followed by the U-19 Inter-District Tournament from April 16 to May 3, the Women Inter-District Tournament from April 3 to 12 and the Kalahandi Cup Senior Inter-District Tournament from April 24 to May 17.

Keeping in view of the hot weather the association decided to conduct the matches in morning and afternoon sessions (timings 7.00 am to 11.30 am and 3.00 pm to 5.30 pm). For determination of age, necessary medical test of all players will be done prior to respective age-group tournaments. Over-age issue will be strictly dealt with and no team will be allowed to field over-age players in junior inter-district tournaments.

OCA also made it mandatory for all players to produce affidavits, made before Executive Magistrate declaring their age, along with original birth certificates, academic certificates and ID Cards for necessary verification. For players born outside the state of Odisha, it is mandatory for them to produce required valid proof of residing inside the state as local player.

Odisha: Tickets put on Sale On-line for the Jan 19 Ind vs Eng Cuttack ODI

Cuttack: Over 8,000 tickets have been put on sale on-line from January 2 for the January 19 One Day International match between India and England which is scheduled to be played at Barabati stadium in Cuttack.

The tickets are on sale till Jan 15 at The Orissa Cricket Association had earlier decided to sell 25 percent tickets online out of total 42,000 tickets.

Tickets will be made available at the counters of the Barabati Stadium on January 16 and 17 for the convenience of the cricket fans who don’t have access to on-line platform.

Madhusmita Behera to Lead Odisha Woman’s Team in T20 League

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Woman’s team all rounder Madhusmita Behera will lead the state team in the Senior Women’s Elite Group-B T-20 League to be held at Jamshedpur from January 2 to 6, 2017.

Odisha will play their other three league matches against Madhya Pradesh, Hyderabad and Uttar Pradesh on January 3, 5 and 6 respectively. Former Odisha Ranji Trophy player Dhirendra Kumar Rout has been named the chief coach of the team.


Madhusmita Behera (Captain), Madhuri Meheta, Sarita Meher, Kadambini Mohakud (WK), Anjali Singh, Rasanara Parwin, Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahu, Ritu Singh, Sujata Mallik, Rajashree Swain, Gangotree Behera, Purnima Ray, Kuni Bhadra, Sumitra Sahoo (WK), Chinmayee Das.

Manager: Santosh Das; Chief Coach: Dhirendra Kumar Rout; Coach: Rashmita Mohanty; Physio: Aparna Mishra; Trainer: Sweta Samantaray

Odisha’s Poonam Nayak Selected for East Zone U-19 team

Bhubaneswar: Odia lass Poonam Nayak has been included in the 15-member East Zone team for the BCCI Inter-Zonal Under-19 Women Two-day League. Tanushree Sarkar will lead the team which includes six from Bengal, four from Jharkhand, two each from Tripura and Assam and one from Odisha. The league is scheduled to be held at Vijayawada and Guntur from January 20 to February 3, 2017.

In a meeting of the East Zone representatives the team was finalised at Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) Club, Barabati Stadium today. OCA Secretary Asirbad Behera convened the meeting attended by Santosh Das (Odisha), Kanhu S Chakroborty (Jharkhand), Rita Baidya Kakati (Assam), Rajat Kanti Sen (Tripura), Mithu Mukherjee (Bengal) and Lopamudra Banerjee (National selector, East Zone) as members.

EAST ZONE U-19 WOMEN TEAM: Tanushree Sarkar, Richa Ghosh, Parna Paul, Deepa Das, Shreyoshi Aich, Nisha Majhi (all Bengal); Ritu Kumari, Rashmi Gudia, Durga Kumari Murmu, Mamata Pashwan (all Jharkhand); Suravi Roy, Mamon Ravi Das (both Tripura); Kalpana Sautal, Nirupoma Boro (both Assam); Poonam Nayak (Odisha).

Manager: Rita Baidya Kakati (Assam) Coach: Seema Singh (Jharkhand); Assistant coach: Arpita Ghosh (Bengal); Physio: Sambita Paul (Bengal); Trainer: Manashi Parui (Bengal).